2017 Ohio Appaloosa Association Year End Awards Banquet

2017 Ohio Appaloosa Association Year End Awards Banquet


Our 17th Annual Awards Banquet and Year End Celebration was on December 2nd, 2017.

“The Heart of the Appaloosa shines as bright as stars in the night sky…
the world without our beloved horses would be dark indeed…
so celebrate in their honor and the ones who brought them before us.”
–Kelly Engle Thompson

Congratulations to all the Award Winners!

Open Shows with Appaloosas – Adults

Open Shows with Appaloosas – Youth

Open Shows with Appaloosas – Horse

Contesting (Open Shows & App Shows)

1st  –  Amanda Mamajek      2nd –  Karen Mamajek

Special Star

1st  Phreddie Corathers


Appaloosa Shows Only
9-13 Division

14-18 Division


Spirit Horse a.k.a. Most Colorful

Bill Donaldson High Point Horse

All Breed Award

Invest in Rock N Roll                                              Rowdy Go Lucky

Trail Ride

Outstanding Youth Award

This award is given to the youth member that shows exceptional service skills.

Past Winners:
2010 Crystal Pennewitt        2011  Ashley Murphy
2012 Cassidy Thompson      2013 Ashley Murphy
2014 Emily Campbell           2015  Machaela Cobler
2016  Addison Moore

2017 Youth Award

Member of the Year Award

This award is given to the member who helps the club achieve its goals throughout the year by volunteering and offering support in the area of need.

Past Winners:
2007  Greg Miller          2008  Nancy Harris
2009 Dawn Day            2010 Heather Zink
2011 Nancy Engle          2012 Hayley Hesler
2013  Liz Keeton           2014 June Levy

2017 Member of the Year

Shelby Osborne Award

This award is given yearly in memory of Shelby Osborne.  He was a member of our club in the early years and he spent many years working to promote the Appaloosa breed and was also known as a mentor to everyone.  This award is given to someone that the members feel is trying their hardest to do the same.

Past Winners:
2007 Kelly Engle Thompson        2008 Greg Miller
2009 Connie Perry                         2010 Cathy and Bob McCulty
2011 Ralph Smithson                     2012 Bob Raines
2013 Cassidy Thompson               2014 The Georgyi Family
2015 Nancy Engle                           2016 The Moore Family

2017 Shelby Osborne Award


Sponsors and Volunteers

The Ohio Appaloosa Association would like to say THANK YOU to all our Sponsors and Volunteers for  helping to make this year’s banquet a reality.

Also Thank You to the Members Who have mad In-Kind Donations!